Regret and Summer

Once again, I find myself filled with regrets as I contemplate this summer both past and present.  I think of all of the things I wanted to accomplish, and all of the things that will remain on that to do list when Labor Day arrives.  It’s hard not to feel discouraged about the certainty of missing opportunities to spend time with family, to enjoy a coffee on a dock lakeside listening to the call of the loon, or to sleep in until noon.  

Yet, all of that seems minor when I think of what the real purpose of life is- and what my real priorities need to be.  I can still make time for special moments with my family, enjoy a coffee porchside, and sleep in until six am 🙂

You see, we sometimes get summer mixed up with a rest stop in the rat race of life, expecting that we have the right to “frolic in the buttercups”.  

Look what we are called to: 

Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. Let those of us who are mature think this way, and if in anything you think otherwise, God will reveal that also to you. Phillipians 3:13-15.

 

Go.  Look ahead.  The prize is the the upward call.

Forget what lies behind.  Run, and run well for the Audience of One!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

