Right Where He Expects Me To Be

The story is told of George Clarke, founder of the Pacific Garden Mission in Chicago, putting in 6 nights out of every seven at the mission as long as he lived.  One day, someone asked him: “Why don’t you get some rest?  You are killing yourself by going to that mission every day.  Why don’t you take a vacation and go somewhere to rest?”

“I can’t do it”, he answered,” I could never do that, for every time I start my walk to the mission for the day, I think “maybe that last man may be saved in our little meeting tonight, and the Lord will come, and I wouldn’t miss being at my post for anything in the World.  When Jesus comes I want to be right where He expects me to be”

Right where He wants, or expects us to be…what a challenge.  Not where I want to be, doing what I want to do, but where He wants me to be, doing what he wants me to be doing.  To this I have been called.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

