We ALL dreaded Sundays

I saw this last week, but this article really caught my attention. Still processing this, but a longer post is coming on this topic post Sunday.

Read the whole article here

The story has gone viral: A group got together at Applebees. When the tab came the minister wrote on the ticket, “I give God 10 percent, why should I give you 18?” She scratched through the automatic large-group tip and substituted a fat zero and signed it with the word “Pastor” in front of her name. The waitress posted an image on Reddit. The pastor called to complain. The waitress got fired. The internet went wild. Last I saw, one story had 80,000 comments and counting.

In reality, the pastor simply exposed something that is all too common to Christian thinking: the sense that giving to the church and to religious charities is the be-all and end all of generosity. As indignant reactions to the Applebee’s incident show, service workers sometimes pay the price:

“I worked at the Outback Steakhouse for 3 years and we ALL dreaded Sundays.”

“The Sunday after church crowd were allways the worst tippers. I found another line of work.”

“As a former waitress who frequently served large parties of CHURCH members and pastors, I can attest to the fact that the majority of them were very demanding, condescending, dismissive and cheap. When 1 or 2 from the party of 12 -15 did tip they would leave pennies and loose change.”

“I have waited tables in the past and I am sorry to say this behavior is not unusual. Often Ministers come into restaurants with their parishioners and treat the staff their to wait on them beyond poorly. They usually come in rather large parties and often leave very little tip for the poor server, who goes out of their way to care for the group.”

“I also provide a service to the public. It is ALWAYS the churches that want something for free or don’t tip.”

“I waited tables for over 30 years and I have been stiffed many times by people like her.”

Interesting…in what ways do we not reflect the light if the glory of Christ? Share in the comments below.

This entry was posted in reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We ALL dreaded Sundays

  1. Michelle says:

    Great start on Isaiah. I am anticipating this study. I have highlight/markings in almost every chapter. There is something about the fact that he’s a “literary genius” that makes this book one of my favourite.

    Great context with the kids story!

Leave a Reply

