It is War

“I am wired by nature to love the same toys that the world loves. I start to fit in. I start to love what others love. I start to call earth “home.” Before you know it, I am calling luxuries “needs” and using my money just the way unbelievers do. I begin to forget the war. I don’t think much about people perishing. Missions and unreached people drop out of my mind. I stop dreaming about the triumphs of grace. I sink into a secular mind-set that looks first to what man can do, not what God can do. It is a terrible sickness. And I thank God for those who have forced me again and again toward a wartime mind-set.”

“The “war” is being fought along the line between sin and righteousness in every family. It is being fought along the line between truth and falsehood in every school… Between justice and injustice in every legislature… Between integrity and corruption in every office… Between love and hate in every ethnic group… Between pride and humility in every sport… Between the beautiful and the ugly in every art… Between right doctrine and wrong doctrine in every church… Between sloth and diligence between coffee breaks. It is not a waste to fight the battle for truth and faith and love on any of these fronts.”

“You get one pass at life. That’s all. Only one. And the lasting measure of that life is Jesus Christ.”

― John Piper, Don’t Waste Your Life

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

