Coffee, Eternity and God’s Glory

Whether, then, you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.
​Give no offense either to Jews or to Greeks or to the church of God;just as I also please all men in all things, not seeking my own profit but the profit of the many, so that they may be saved
.

Whether you eat or drink…

Those of you who know me well know that it could be said that I enjoy coffee. Some of you like to poke a little (or a lot) of fun at some of the steps that I like to follow….like the grinding of the beans or the temperature of the water. Most of you also know that I’m probably at my least patient point in the day while waiting for the first cup of the morning to be ready to drink.

As a Christian who is trying to do all things to the glory of God (1 Cor 10.31), even eating or drinking, even my morning cup of coffee can be an exercise in worship. I praise God for being the good creator who gives such gifts for us to enjoy, as well as the capacity of enjoying items in God’s physical creation such as these.
Earlier this week, I found myself thinking about this, as well as another application from my morning cup of java that reminds me daily to think intentionally about the way I live my life.

I find myself fascinated by the steam from that cup.. I am eagerly awaiting this cup. It is steaming hot.. But I am captivated by the steam as it continues off my little caffeinated smokestack.

I am reminded again of the Scripture:
Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away. (Jam 4.14–NASB)

My life is a vapor. It is a blip on the screen. I am here for a little while and then I vanish away.
However, I fail to interpret the problems and hardships of the day ahead and the days behind in light of this. In my mind every day is like a thousand years; I am living forever. But this is simply not true. My life is a vapor and my coffee reminds me of what the Scriptures shout to me.

You should see here how my second observation (my life is a vapor) helps with my first (do all to the glory of God). In light of the fact that life is short I shouldn’t take have time to fool around being stupid, immature and selfish. Instead, I need to grow up, serve Jesus and have fun. I only have so many rocks to throw into the pond to make a splash for his kingdom, so it’s time to put the mirror of self-admiration down and start throwing.
The gospel beckons me to hear the Scripture. God numbers my days so I should number my days. Because Christ lived and died for me I need (get) to, today, live for him.

So, don’t waste your coffee, use it as an opportunity to remind you to Drink, worship, and live every day in light of God’s purpose for your life.

20130907-182825.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coffee, Eternity and God’s Glory

  1. Michelle says:

    What can I learn about intentionality with a moldy peach pie on my kitchen counter? Are you going to think I am heathen? 🙂
    Actually, in all seriousness…I am enjoying this challenge to be intentional. Suddenly, even the most mundane task seems extraordinary.

Leave a Reply

