3 Words When I Fall Behind

It’s easy to get caught up in the tyranny of the urgent, the whirlwind of activity that keeps you from accomplishing all the tasks you’ve been assigned.

Most of us know what it is like to never be “off the clock.” Something is always coming. Someone’s always needing something.  There’s always at least one friend in crisis mode. You fight the fires all week and when your head hits the pillow, the next day’s work is standing over your bed and staring at you.

Here’s where we have a choice to make. We must not let tomorrow’s demands diminish our delight in today’s accomplishments.

On Days Like Today, when I feel like this, I need to remember that…

God didn’t have this problem. When He created the birds of the air and the fish of the sea, He didn’t respond at the end of the fifth day by saying, “So much more to do tomorrow! I’ve got so much left on the agenda.” No. God looked back before He looked forward. He saw that it was good.

I love how Sally Lloyd-Jones imagines the scene of God looking at all He made and saying, “You’re good!”

God delights in His work, one day at a time. As those who reflect His image, shouldn’t we also delight in what we’ve accomplished?

I’m trying to learn that Image simply pausing and telling myself, “It is good” is one of the best ways I recalibrate my heart, celebrate the work I’ve accomplished, and entrust the results to God’s hands.

“It is good” doesn’t mean “it was all perfect” or “there’s nothing more to do.” It means I rest in the affirmation of a heavenly Father who has given me gifts and talents and commissioned me for His purposes. Because of His grace, I want to do all I can for King Jesus – to lay it all on the field, to die “spent” – with all my gifts and talents exploited to the uttermost for the kingdom of Christ.

I encourage you too, at the end of this week, when you look back and start thinking about all the things you wanted to do but didn’t have time for, when you ponder the improvements you hope to make, and the tasks that await you in the future, stop your list-making for a moment and celebrate the work you’ve done. And God saw that it was good.  

I’m going to try it….will you join me?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

